Adrian College Graduate Sarah Buggia Selected as Fulbright Scholar

Buggia to receive a grant to Spain for an English Teaching Assistantship.

ADRIAN, Mich (August 11, 2014) – In July, the United States Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board made the announcement that Sarah Buggia ‘14 was among those students awarded a Fulbright U.S. Student Program grant. Buggia will travel to Spain for an English Teaching Assistantship.

“The opportunity to be a Fulbright English Teaching Assistant will allow me to undergo life-changing personal growth while helping to open doors of economic opportunity, cultural empathy and feelings of responsibility,” Buggia said.

Buggia is one of over 1,800 U.S. citizens who will travel abroad for the 2014-2015 academic year through the Fulbright U.S. Student Program. Recipients of Fulbright grants are selected on the basis of academic and professional achievement, as well as demonstrated leadership potential.

The Adrian College graduate majored in International Business with a minor in Spanish. She was actively involved in Not For Sale, Mortarboard and served as a resident adviser.

“The multitude of transferable skills gained through this experience will simultaneously contribute to my future goals. It will serve to strengthen my capability to provide an education and sustainable opportunities to those susceptible to human trafficking.”

“I hope to help break the cycle of modern day slavery,” Buggia commented. 

The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government and is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. The primary source of funding for the Fulbright Program is an annual appropriation made by the U.S. Congress to the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Participating governments and host institutions, corporations and foundations in foreign countries and in the United States also provide direct and indirect support. Recipients of Fulbright grants are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement, as well as demonstrated leadership potential in their fields.

The Program operates in over 155 countries worldwide.
Since its establishment in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late U.S. Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, the Fulbright Program has given approximately 360,000 students, scholars, teachers, artists, and scientists the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.
Fulbright alumni have achieved distinction in government, science, the arts, business, philanthropy, education, and many other fields.  Fifty-three Fulbright alumni from 12 countries have been awarded the Nobel Prize, and 78 alumni have received Pulitzer Prizes. Prominent Fulbright alumni include: Muhammad Yunus, founder, Grameen Bank, and 2006 Nobel Peace Prize recipient; Juan Manuel Santos, President of Colombia; John Hope Franklin, noted American historian and Presidential Medal of Freedom recipient; Riccardo Giacconi, physicist and 2002 Nobel Laureate; Amar Gopal Bose, chairman and founder, Bose Corporation; Renée Fleming, soprano; Jonathan Franzen, writer; and Daniel Libeskind, architect.

Fulbright recipients are among over 50,000 individuals participating in U.S. Department of State exchange programs each year. The Institute of International Education administers the Fulbright U.S. Student Program.
For further information about the Fulbright Program or the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, please visit our website at or contact Elaine Clayton, telephone 202-632-6445 or e-mail