Bulldogs Win Back-to-Back ACHA Division III National Championships

Adrian College becomes second team ever to win consecutive national championships title.

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. – The Adrian Bulldogs became only the second team to win consecutive national championships in the American Collegiate Hockey Association’s Division III.

The Bulldogs beat Michigan-Flint, 4-1, Saturday afternoon and emerged as the only team at the tournament to win every game.

Their journey began earlier in the week with wins over Farmingdale State (6-0), Colorado State (5-1), and the University of Mississippi (9-0) to win Pool A. They defeated the Pool B winner, Hope College in the semifinal, 3-2.

Michigan-Flint advanced via wins against California University (5-2), Iowa State (3-0), and the University of Alabama (7-1) to win their pool. They then defeated Davenport in overtime in the semifinal, 5-4.

Nick Hurite buried a rebound to extend the Bulldog lead to 2-0, after Russ Rizzo had opened the scoring for Adrian with the lone goal of the opening period. Myles Maltz scored a power-play goal minutes after Maltz’s goal to extend the Bulldogs lead to 3-0 after two periods.

Michigan-Flint would strike once to cut the lead to two at 3-1, but Rizzo would bury his second of the game with an empty-netter with seconds remaining to seal the win. Garrett Knappe finished with 37 saves in the game, bringing his total to 111 of 115 total tournament shots.

Adrian College Gold finished the season with a 33-3 record.

For more information, visit http://achahockey.org/league.php?league_id=1063.